34.2 C
December 6, 2023
Community News

Akoko NE/NW & The Continuity Of An Excellent Act Of Political Stewardship


A socio-political group under the axis of Progressive Change Initiative for good governance, has called on all the stakeholders and leaders of the All Progressives congress in Ondo State and Nigeria at large to address the choice of picking a candidate to replace Hon. Olubunmi Tunji Ojo in the Green Chamber of the National Assembly, Abuja.

While addressing journalist in Akure, the Ondo State Capital, the group empathize that the bye-election of Ondo North federal constituency of Ondo State have continued to gain political interest as to who represents the federal constituency of Akoko North East/North West Federal Constituency, which in recent time have been controversially debatted as to who and which local government deserves the seat of the House of representatives and issues bothering on the constituency with the right to enjoy the vote of confidence for principle of equity, fairness and justice.

The mandate of the most popular political party in Nigeria, All Progressives Congress (APC), in Ondo State and Ondo North political trajectory will not be written in gold without the giant success strides of political victory in the bye election of the House of Representatives schedule to hold later in 2023.

The incumbent party victory can only be attained when a right candidate is democratically and politically supported with high stakes of grass root politicking and popularity that cut across both local governments in the federal constituency of Ondo North.

It will be a political incineration and political calamity to wheel the seat of the next House of Representatives Member in the primary of the All Progressives Congress(APC) within the same Ward and Sister ward, which comprises Okeagbe and Oyin giving the fact that the immediate past Honourable Member House of Representatives, Hon. Olubunmi Tunji Ojo now a Serving Minister of Interior for the Federal Republic of Nigeria hails from the same community in Okeagbe and Oyin/ Oge wards.

The polical agitation and political sphere calls for the principle of Equity, Justice and Fairness within the local government Areas for proper transition of power to wards and communities that have been neglected politically and sidelined in political representation and appointments.

In the wake of a call for a peaceful transition of power to the next member of the House of Representatives via a bye election poll decider factor, the overview decision and conclusion should solely be subjected to Ajowa, Igashi, Eriti, Gedegede ward 5 community stake holders and political ward and their leaders saddled to take responsibility of producing an appropriate candidate for the election with Arigidi Akoko already having enjoyed the headquarters of the newly created LCDA in Akoko North West Constituency 1.

The race to producing a candidate and winning the bye election should be a collective decision of the entire Federal Constituency and all political associates and electorates in ensuring that power remains in Akoko North west Constituency 1 and transient to Ward 5 comprising Ajowa, Igashi, Eriti, Gedegede to enable the completion of the tenure of the Hon. Minister and out gone House of Representatives Member, Hon. Olubunmi Tunji Ojo.

We call on the Executive Governor of Ondo State, H.E. Oluwatorimi Odunayo Akeredolu, the All Progressives Congress Party chairman of Ondo State, Engr. Ade Adetimehin, Hon. Minister of Interior, Hon. Olubunmi Tunji Ojo collectively in their magnanimous political representation and love for the political family, constituency and people, to profuse a circular understanding of the political adversary and political trajectory of North West Constituencies 1 and 2 which have so far been represented in governance with an exemption of ward 5 Ajowa, Igashi, Eriti, Gedegede either by appointments or elected offices in capacity of representaion in accordance with each ward and its political heights and strides. Presently ward 10 comprising of Ikaram, Erusu, Iyani, Ibaram and Ase, produced the present State of Assembly member Hon. Fatai Atere, Arigidi wards 1 and 2 has the present Commissioner for Women Affairs Hon. Mrs Osadahun Olubunmi and a former two term Assembly member Hon. Maito, wards 3 and 4 produced an immediate past House of Representatives Member and presently a Hon. Federal Minister of Interior Hon. Olubunmi Tunji Ojo and Immediate past Chairman Akoko North West LGA Hon. Elder Ayo Akande , Constituency 2 comprising of Ogbagi had a member of the State House of Assembly in Ondo State Hon. Taofiq, wards 7 and 8 have a serving member of the House of Assembly, Hon. Barr.Felix Afe, ward 9 Afin/ Ese had a Commissioner Hon. Badmus Rasheed.

It is important to consider and support the yearnings and out cry of the people of Ajowa, Igashi, Eriti, Gedegede ward 5 that have been marginalised politically in the political circle of Ondo State since the emergence of Akeredolu’s administration.

In deciding who fits and steps into the mantle of political accolades and strides achieved in the last four years by the APC in Ondo North Federal Constituency,
It will be a fair representation of equity, fairness and justice which in turn will pave way for political harmony and seal a balance representation across all sojourn of the North west local government area if a candidate is considered from Ward 5 of Akoko North West.

Progressive Change Innitiative for Good Governance.

Related posts

Amotekun: Don’t be distracted with PDP rants —APC tells Akeredolu

State Correspondent

Akeredolu writes Ondo Assembly, resumes officially

State Correspondent

Akure Reps race: Kemisola Adesanya wins PDP ticket

State Correspondent

Leave a Comment