24 C
April 16, 2024
Community News

Ondo Assembly goes tough over new LCDAs


The Speaker of Ondo State House of Assembly, Rt.Hon(Chief)Olamide Oladiji has sent a strong warning to those anticipating to forcefully change the headquarters of the newly created Local Council Development Areas ( LCDAs) to desist from such move and follow the due process of law.

Oladiji who sent this warning in a statement released by the Chairman, House Committee on Information, Honourable, (Chief) Olatunji Oshati, explained that the headquarters of the LCDAs have been passed into law by the State House of Assembly and duly assented to by the Governor of the State, Arakunrin Oluwarotimi Odunayo Akeredolu, SAN, CON.

While describing those who believe in self help for change in some headquarters of the LCDAS as enemies of progress, the Speaker called on all and sundry to work collectively for the overall development of the State.

“The headquarters as listed in the ENACTED law have come to stay and anybody with the ulterior motive to take the laws into his hands to change these names under any disguise without following the due process will face the wrath of the law as they would be acting ultra vires”.

According to him, apart from the fact that the LCDA would bring about rapid development and growth to the State, particularly at the grassroots levels, it would also provide job opportunities for the youths at large.

He further informed that due process was followed to select the headquarters, calling on all and sundry to embrace it and support government in its drive to bring about development to Ondo State.

The Speaker, later expressed appreciation to the Governor of Ondo State for his political will and love for his people by ensuring that the creation of the LCDAS came to reality.

Names of the LCDAS and their headquarters include:
Local Government Area —- Headquarters:

Akoko South South —— Akungba Akoko
Akure East– Oda
Akure West —- lsinkan
Arigidi/Erusu —- Arigidi Akoko
Arogbo — Arogbo
Idanre Central —- Opa-ldanre
Idanre South West — Ofosu
Ifedore Central—- llara Mokin
Ifesowapo —- Araromi Obu
Igbaotun — Oba-ile
Ijare —- ljare
Ikale East —- Ajagba
Ikale North —– lgbotako
Ikale West—– llutitun
Ilaje Aheri/Etikan —– Agerige
Ilaje Central —— Ode Ugbo
Ilaje East —— Awoye
Ilelabo —– ifira – Akoko
Ile – Oluji West — Bamikemo.
Irekari —– ldoani.
Irun/Ogbagi —— Okeluju( Ogbagi/ lrun-Akoko
Isowopo —- Ise- Akoko.
Irepodun —- Ajue
Okeigbo —– Okeigbo
Ondo North East—- Epe
Ondo North West —- Enuowa
Ondo South West —— Bagbe
Oredegbe — lmoru
Owo East —– Ipele
Owo North East—– lyere
Owo North West — Emure Ile
Owo South —– Ijebu
Oyemekun —- Adofure.

Hon.Olatunji Oshati
Chairman, House Committee on Information,
Ondo State House of Assembly.

Related posts

I’ll fortify Ondo security architecture —Aiyedatiwa vows

State Correspondent

Akoko-born American-based Philanthropist, Dr Adeyemi Opemipo LaCrown donates Textbooks worth N10m to schools in Ondo State

State Correspondent

Ondo 2024: Morayo Lebi’s Guber Aspiration Excites APC Leaders

State Correspondent

Leave a Comment