24.4 C
June 25, 2024
State News

PDP’s Agboola names Festus Akingbaso as running mate — Politics

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate for the Ondo State governorship poll, Agboola Ajayi, has picked Festus Akingbaso, popularly known as Fessy West, as his running mate.

The spokesman of the Ondo State chapter of the PDP, Kennedy Peretei, made this known on Channels Television on Sunday evening.
Akingbaso is a member of the House of Representatives representing Idanre/Ifedore Constituency and a former member of the Ondo State House of Assembly.
He hails from Idanre in Idanre Local Government Area of the Ondo Central Senatorial District.

Akingbaso is a replacement for Samuel Ogunmusi, whose name was earlier submitted to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as a placeholder for the PDP’s deputy governorship slot for the Ondo State gubernatorial election.
INEC on May 26, 2024, published the names as well as the particulars of 16 candidates and their running mates that will contest the governorship election in Ondo State on November 16.
The list, Form EC9, which was pasted at the Ondo State headquarters of the electoral body as well as the 18 local council offices of the commission, had the personal details and academic credentials of candidates and their running mates.

The development indicated that the 16 political parties met the May 20 INEC deadline for the submission of candidates’ lists by the participating political parties.
The governorship candidates and their running mates include the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Lucky Aiyedatiwa, 59, Deputy Governor Olayide Adelami, 66; PDP’s Ajayi, 55, who just changed his running mate.
Others are Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), Abbas Mimiko, 60, Deputy Governor Morgan Fadoju, 54; Labour Party (LP), Festus Olorunfemi, 59, Deputy Governor Olubukola Adu, 52; and Young Progressives Party (YPP), Otitoloju Akinmurele, 43, Deputy Governor Ayodele Obe.

Also included in the published list is the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Olusegun Oyebolu, 55, Deputy Governor Gift Dada, 45; Action Alliance (AA), Omolere Akinuli, 63, Deputy Governor Adetunji Adeyemi, 67; Accord (A), Ajibola Abraham, 64, Deputy Governor Samuel Ikuyajolu, 36; African Democratic Congress (ADC), Adeyemi Nejo, 42, Deputy Governor Raheed Ibrahim, 56; and New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Oluwatosin Ayeni, 35, Deputy Governor Abigail Omoyugbo, 44.
Others are the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), Babatunde Alli, 50, Deputy Governor Olusegun Famesa, 48; African Action Congress (AAC), Adekunle Ajayi, 37, Deputy Governor Victor Lijofi, 38; Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Isaac Ogunfeyimi, 75, Deputy Governor Folorunso Afolabi, 63; Action Peoples Party (APP), Babatunde Fadoju, 56, Deputy Governor Abimbola Ajaguna, 36; All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Olatunji Popoola, 66, Deputy Governor Taiwo Adedeji, 40; and Youth Party (YP), Kehinde Paul, 35, Deputy Governor Otitoleke Olupitan, 35.
Meanwhile, INEC also said that the participating political parties have until June 18 to make any substitutions for their candidates if necessary.

Related posts

We won’t condone peace-disrupting activities, Ondo Police warns residents

State Correspondent

JUST IN: Former NASS Deputy Clerk, Adelami Emerges Ondo Deputy Governor

State Correspondent

Hurdles before Aiyedatiwa as Ondo APC prepares for governorship primary |

State Correspondent

Leave a Comment