25.5 C
July 12, 2024
Community News

Ondo Govt ends Age-Long Chieftaincy crisis in Akoko town, Approves New Declaration

The Ondo state government has put an end to the age-long crisis in Ojo-Ajowa Akoko community in Akoko North West Local Government area of the state through a declaration to guide the community on how to elect a new Olojo of Ojo-Ajowa whenever the stool becomes vacant.

This was made known at a meeting where the declaration was read by the Head of Local Government Administration (HOLGA), Engineer Babarinde B.O.M in Akoko North West local government secretariat, Okeagbe Akoko on Wednesday.

It was recalled at the meeting that the appointment of the current Olojo of Ojo-Ajowa, Oba Timothy Adewale Afiwasaye from Aremu quaters of the community was done through a letter by the government dated 10th of June, 1997, where it was stated that immediately after the installation of Oba Timothy Adewale Afiwasaye, a new Chieftaincy declaration be made for Ojo-Ajowa Akoko in order to accommodate other communities that made up Ojo-Ajowa Akoko; Ojoke, Orodo, Ilowe, Atuke.

It was also stated in this letter that the Olojo Chieftaincy has no registered declaration, and since a declaration can not be registered during the period, the appointment of a new Olojo should be done using the native law emanating from Ojo-Ajowa Akoko before the appointment of Oba Timothy Adewale.

However, the state government has now given approval for a new Chieftaincy declaration after 22 years of waiting titled Olojo of Ojo-Ajowa Chieftaincy declaration in Akoko North West local government area of Ondo state. The approval was given on the 3rd day of February, 2023 in a letter addressed to the Executive Chairman of Akoko North West Local Government and signed by the Permanent secretary of the state Ministry of local government and Chieftaincy affairs.

In the declaration, which was made under Section (1) Subsection (2) of the Chief’s law (as ammended), it was stated that the number of ruling houses in the town will be five (5) namely; Aremu, Atuke, Orodo, Ilowe, Ojoke.

The order of rotation in filling vacancy in the town was also stated to be; Aremu, Atuke, Orodo, Ilowe, Ojoke. It should be recalled that the present ruling house is Aremu. Hence, the next ruling house should be Atuke according to the declaration.

Among many other important points included in the declaration, it was also stated that there will be fifteen kingmakers (3 per quarters) within three (3) months after the death of an Oba, the Secretary of the Local government shall ask the ruling house whose turn it is to present candidate(s) for the vacant stool within fourteen (14) days from the date of such notification.

Audu Badiru, while speaking on behalf of the Ojo-Ajowa community, appreciated the state government for resolving the age long crisis in the community.

We have finally gotten the peaceful resolutions we have been chasing for over 65 years. We thank the state government for establishing peace in Ojo-Ajowa Akoko community.

Also present at the meeting were: the Vice Chairman of Akoko North West Local Government, Chief A.A Adenyaju, representatives of the communities that made up Ojo-Ajowa Akoko among others.

Related posts

Breaking: Ex-Ondo Gov Adefarati’s Son wins Akoko Southwest/Southeast APC Reps Primary

State Correspondent

Ondo APC Chieftain, Ajipe felicitates Muslims, seeks more prayers for Akeredolu, Nigeria

State Correspondent

Man to die by hanging for killing neighbour —Court rules

State Correspondent

Leave a Comment